40 Days and 40 Nights Without Facebook-I’ve Gotta Find Some Good Books To Read

27 02 2009

Although I consider myself in the Christmas and Easter only kind of church goer, I still give something up last year for Lent. Last year I gave up being awesome, it didn’t last long(totally kidding). This year I narrowed it down between shots at the bar or Facebook. Deciding that my social life has taken a dive because of my crazy workload has kept me away from East Lansing watering holes, I went with Facebook. Two days after Fat Tuesday, I caved…BUT it was for a good cause, I had to reply to a message from someone who worked at a company I am interviewing with. Age-old traditions shouldn’t stand in the way of my career, right? A slippery slope indeed.

I am determined to stick with my commitment. If the J Man could last 40 days and 40 nights without food in the desert, this couldn’t be that tough, could it? Besides, I still have my buddies LinkedIn, Twitter, this blog, not to mention e-mail and I just registered for 12seconds, a micro-vlog, to get me through. After accounting for as much time as I spend on Facebook, abstaining will give me anywhere from an extra 30 minutes to 2 hours, imagine the things I can do with that time!

So, I’ll be sure to post an update in the next month or so and tell about the temptations, relapses and disconnects as a result of being apart from my interactive social network. Even the fact that I considered giving up Facebook speaks volumes about our digital world. It makes me wonder if parents are grounding their children from sites like Facebook and MySpace as a punishment. So as I embark on this journey into the desert of Disconnectia, wish me luck. I plan on returning with fresh insight and a deeper appreciation for the digital sphere we live in.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

